PictureCreative thinking...don't be afraid.
I have a friend that is a filmmaker. He isn't famous. He hasn't made anything for a studio, but once every year or so he pours himself into a script. Imagining every detail, every shot, every lighting cue...and then...he makes it.

He is a filmmaker.

Once a week or so we get together in one our favorite coffee shops in the city to discuss stories, ideas, unknot tricky plot points and dream.

He is convinced that the world is split into two different kinds of people. Creatives and non-creatives.  He says that creative people create because they have to. They aren't given a choice. They are just being who they are.

I disagree...

I think everyone is creative. I just think people that are considered "non-creative" simply haven't found their creative outlet. Or they are afraid to try.

I think everyone is creative because we were formed in the image of God. God is the most creative force in all of existence. He CREATED existence. Everything you see, feel, hear, taste and touch is something He dreamed up. He designed chords note by note, He created melody and harmony. He paints with every color. His palette is endless. He sculpted the complex curves of the mountains, He painted the breathtaking nebulas that we can only now photograph.

And we were created in His image.

So, if we are all creative then why does it seem like only a chosen few are creating? It's because it IS scary to try. It's so much safer to stay put not move. If I never try I'll never fail.

Here's the thing about Dreaming. When me and my filmmaker friend dream, we never dream about the results. We don't hope that one day he'll be a famous director, or that'll I'll have a book that's a bestseller.


We dream about the work. We imagine the movies, the stories, the books. We hope for the best but don't get bogged down worrying whether others will like it or get it. Just the creative expression.


What have you wanted to do? Try it! Make the work the reward. The freeing feeling of unabashed creativity. That's when I feel the most like myself. After I've written. After my Art has washed from my soul the dust of everyday life.

You are a creative. Now go and do.


**photo credit http://thinkjarcollective.com

7/1/2013 12:43:31 pm

I'm with you on that everybody-is-creative thing. Some people probably define 'creative' too narrowly. If you encourage someone who needs it, you've just created something that wasn't there before!

Love your "that's when I feel the most like myself" line :)

Reply
David Helms
7/2/2013 11:15:37 pm

Thanks Gary! That's absolutely true.

I said the "that's when I feel the most like myself" offhand to a co-worker of mine who stopped his creative pursuits because he felt that they weren't a practical use of his time. He later told me that the single sentence stated had completely changed the way he thought and inspired him. Which is what truth simply stated can do!

Reply
7/1/2013 11:39:55 pm

Your time with your film maker friend brings to mind two kids talking about what they're gonna be when they grow up. It's awesome that you actually schedule time to discuss ideas and dreams.

Reply
David Helms
7/2/2013 11:17:23 pm

The funny thing is, that is exactly what it feels like. Like kids imagining what they are going to be like as grown ups. It's refreshing and amazingly freeing! I'm glad you picked up on that!

Reply
7/2/2013 02:39:52 am

Yes I totally agree. When I want to start a new quilt. It is a thrill to look at the color hold the fabric side by side and imagine what it could be. So when I'm gone that will explain my fabric hoarding.

Reply
David Helms
7/2/2013 11:19:51 pm

And after you have not only a practical a beautiful work of art, (we still have the quilts you made us) but you also have a link to your legacy. The way the art of quilting was taught mother to daughter or grandmother to granddaughter. It's almost a lost art and I personally thank you for your creative contributions!

Reply
claire
7/2/2013 10:29:53 pm

'hope deffered truly makes the heart sick(...)' - how true!
&agree with you on that creative fact! , whether people will like it or not, its just the creative expression that matters. #encouraged! thanks David :)

Reply
David Helms
7/2/2013 11:21:35 pm

I'm so glad you were encouraged Claire. Keep on creating art! Dust out your soul! You never know who it will impact for eternity!

Reply



Leave a Reply.