Picture
I haven't updated this blog in awhile because I have been traveling. I traveled for sixteen hours in a car from the suburbs of Chicago to my home state of North Carolina. I went to be with my family to mourn the loss of my grandmother. 


This is nothing new. Everyone has lost loved ones. There was no tragedy that took her from us early. She was ready to go. In the days and weeks before she passed she spoke of being ready to go home and getting to see her husband and sisters again. I am happy for her and am in awe of her unshakable faith that she clung to all the way to the end.


We seem to all have this mistaken idea that a quiet life is not worth leading. That no one will champion a name that isn't famous. It is wrong to think that no one will tell stories about a life lived well in relative obscurity. 


My grandmother lived a quiet life. She was astonishingly humble. She never looked for praise or notoriety. She didn't seek fame or fortune. She was so quiet and sweet it wasn't until I looked back at her life as a whole that I realized how amazing she was. 


She was a teacher, first of English and of music. She passed a love of the written word to me. She was a breast cancer survivor and had a stroke that left her paralyzed on half of her body for most of her life. She was tough, but didn't have to yell to prove it, in fact I only heard her raise her voice in anger once in my thirty one years.


I only found this out after she passed that she wrote letters of encouragement to women with breast cancer. Ensuring them that there is life after cancer. Giving them hope, sharing peace with them. She kept this to herself never looking for accolades.


The love story that unfolded over the course of my grandparents life together is nothing short of awe-inspiring. A love story that was loyal and true. That lasted from the day they met until death stole him from her.


This is the legacy I have. It was passed to me. This humble sweet woman who lived in a small house on a farm in the middle of nowhere, who wasn't rich or famous. This is why I think this quiet life is worth celebrating, worth sharing here and now. In the weeks before she passed, sensing her time was short, she made phone calls to us. She called me and after letting me know that she will always love me, she told me to remember to always love everybody. To choose love. In the life we lead of rushing around, trying to make money and build our own empires...at the end what was important to her


That is the legacy. That is worth celebrating.

Chad
1/16/2013 11:50:51 am

I think that a life like your grandmother's, as well as so many others, show us that the true meaning of an important life is not found in being the flashiest paint or the fanciest window dressing - it's found in being the steadiest foundation. Many sorry houses look good, I'd rather be a sturdy house that may have some wear and tear. My condolences on your loss, even though it is Heaven's gain.

Reply
David
1/16/2013 09:39:33 pm

Well said, Chad. We all want to be skyscapers, but without a foundation some of wouldn't hack it as the outhouse. Thank you for the condolences, times like this is when faith becomes most precious.

Reply
1/16/2013 09:18:57 pm

Sorry to hear that your Grandmother passed. Nice job on the memorial piece. I've always found that memorializing losses of those we loved helps us deal with the grief.

Reply
David
1/16/2013 09:40:51 pm

Thank you Dan. I feel like if I wrote anything else, skipped the grieving, it would be disingenuous to where I am right now.

Reply
1/17/2013 02:21:55 am

Well said - I think that the silent, humble prayer warriors are the heros of faith. It makes me yearn for heaven and that great reunion we will have. Ma Ma loves you son. "My little dark haired grandson" -she said that a lot when she longed to see you. She will be in that great cloud of witnesses!

Reply
David
1/17/2013 05:31:40 am

And I can't wait to see her again!

Reply
Booker Daniel
1/17/2013 09:37:29 am

David, I had the pleasure of knowing your grandmother, Miss Lorice in her last years. What an honor it was to be the friend of such an amazing woman. I will always be in awe of her kindness and patience. You have a wonderful legacy and I am sure she is ever so proud of your writing talent!

Reply
Wanda Helms
1/17/2013 11:06:53 am

Dave, you summed it up very eloquently! I was so blessed and honored to be able to attend your grandmother's memorial/ celebration. What a wonderful person and what a great heritage you all have! Like a song that I heard recently, "I Have Friends In High Places" , I now realize what it means to say I have a longing for Heaven! Uncle Howard is, once again, waiting for me! He always said that he "always" had to wait on me! :-) Love and Blessings to you and your sweet Kat! Aunt Wanda

Reply



Leave a Reply.