Picture
Yesterday I spent an hour or so in one of my favorite coffee shops in Chicago. I was waiting for one of my friends to arrive so could discuss things like story structure, what does it mean to be successful, our favorite sci-fi shows and make stupid jokes the way good friends do.

While I was waiting I sipped on my coffee and attempted to read a book on my Kindle (to all the book purists out there, I was once one of you, Kindles are awesome) but every time I would try to read a sentence I would get distracted. A new person would walk in or walk out. Humanity was happening around me and there were behavior patterns that were too interesting to ignore.

I happened to be in one of the more trendy or "Arty" neighborhoods of the city. Not affluent, but young creatives would wander in and out. It was a coffee shop. A hub of culture as it were.

What I found to be so interesting was how desperately people wanted to be accepted. To fit in, to have the right "look", to be told "you're cool, you're one of us." And whenever that desperation was evident then these people were "not cool." 

Nearly everyone there had the right clothes, right shoes, right hair, right facial hair, right tattoos. Perfectly filling the uniform, clearly spending allot of time and effort to put forth the appearance of not caring what anyone else thought. 

Personally, I've always been more comfortable in the role of the "outsider". The new guy, the guy from out of town, out of state. 

Watching all of this effort and all of the unspoken tension of wanting to belong, worrying what others think shows how clearly we are made to live tribaly. Every one there was looking for there tribe and hoping for acceptance.

I strongly contend that the feeling of being completely and unconditionally accepted by another "warts and all", is one of the closest things that we can get to Paradise on this side of the paper sky. Being understood and loved regardless of not having it all together, regardless of our shortcomings makes us better. It makes us want to be more fully alive and more accepting of others.

The challenge is stop seeing how someone isn't enough (cool enough, smart enough, funny enough) and accepting them as they are. As you long to be accepted and understood yourself.

Also be willing to accept yourself...warts and all. To have any kind of mental stability give yourself grace, give yourself love. Allow yourself to believe that the God of all creation actually and really loves you as you are. Not as you could be, not as you might be some day. But as you are. Right now. That He would be willing to let His son die on a cross for the person you are.

I believe in you. I really do.

6/21/2013 06:34:01 am

Each time I read your words, I find myself nodding in agreement and smiling in awe.

Favorite line today: "I strongly contend that the feeling of being completely and unconditionally accepted by another "warts and all", is one of the closest things that we can get to Paradise on this side of the paper sky."

Thanks for sharing!
Deb Weaver
thewordweaver.com

Reply
David Helms
6/21/2013 10:32:32 pm

Wow, Thank you for that nice compliment Deb! Also thank you for reading :)

Reply
Chad Messer
6/23/2013 07:37:36 am

Another great post. In my life I've found precious few communities that accept me as I am, so I finally decided that I would become the community that I needed. It's like you were saying in your post, acceptance isn't a one-way door. When you are accepted by others, you long to accept others. The inverse is also true: when you accept others, you'll find that people want to accept you, too. I don't think that it can ever be said enough: to find fulfillment and joy in life, all you have to do is strive to be the good you want to see in the world. Even the weakest light, when brought out from under the bushel, can start a fire to change the world.

Reply
David Helms
6/23/2013 08:40:33 am

Well said, Chad! A great way of saying "be the change you want to see in the world". If we celebrate someone for who they are rather than stumbling over what they are not, this'll be a better place. Regardless of our labels we put on ourselves to separate, we are all in this together.

Reply
6/23/2013 11:37:12 pm

Great post. Thanks for this. Makes me think that "love your neighbor as yourself" might actually be a cornerstone idea that could change our culture. - Blessings

Reply
David Helms
6/24/2013 12:43:32 pm

Thanks Hutch! Maybe that's why it's the second most important commandment. Blessings to you as well.

Reply
Claire
6/25/2013 11:25:02 pm

found your blog today, read these words....
''The challenge is stop seeing how someone isn't enough (cool enough, smart enough, funny enough) and accepting them as they are. As you long to be accepted and understood yourself.''
and was utterly challenged yet comforted.
coz i know i'm not perfect no matter how much i try to pretend and think i am - &even wanting others to be, so i'm gonna take up the challenge David, right on!

Reply
David Helms
6/26/2013 12:09:59 am

Hey Claire, thanks for reading! The Lord knows that I am far from perfect. But everyday is a chance to be better and make the world slightly better. Keep on keeping on Claire, you're awesome!

Reply



Leave a Reply.