Picture
I'll start the next part of the story with a simple observation.                                                  


People of my generation have abandoned the "archaic" idea of going to church. Even those who believe and identify themselves as Christians. I've heard this generation referred to as the "unchurched" generation. People my age simply don't seem to find any relevance in the tradition.


Here is where I disagree. Going to a church and worshipping something greater than yourself with a small group of other people creates a bond, a kinship. You build a tribe, a community with people that can be very different than you but you have one amazingly important thing in common. Something that overcomes differences in fashion, music and race. A  common belief that makes you want the best for the other person. Without my church tribe this flood would have been devastating to my wife and I. 

PictureMy dogs in comparison to their little dog
As we were states away from our rapidly flooding house, one thing I thankfully didn't have to worry about was my dogs. My dogs are not small and easily cared for. One is close to 80 lbs and the other is fuzzy ball of neurosis, fearful still of the abuse that my wife and I rescued her from. My associate pastor Pablo Rodriguez and his family took in my dogs without hesitation, knowing that my dogs were difficult, stressed out and were suffering from separation anxiety. realizing that my house was without power and unguarded they pulled anything of value that could be stolen while we were gone and made sure the food in my fridge wasn't left to rot. I am extremely grateful that these were stresses I didn't need to worry about.  

Picture
although I maybe should have worried a little...
Picture
The greatest relief of all was another family from my church that runs a company cleaning and sanitizing construction sites was immediately available to begin clean up, including starting work before the rains had even let up. The Mancilla family pulled out our destroyed furniture and carpeting, documented damages, waded through waist deep water and sewage, worked and sweated, and mourned with us through our losses. This is family. This is community. This is worth not getting to sleep in on a Sunday morning. To make connections with other human beings that saw that someone in their tribe had a need and jumped at the chance to help, to bless, to make things better. 

When Christ walked on earth, He taught us to pray. Part of the prayer He taught was "...on earth as it is in Heaven." We are to pray to bring Heaven to earth. These families...this family of mine...prayed with me, worked with me, to bring just a little bit of heaven... to make things just a little bit better.

I didn't come home to rotten food and a basement filled with water and sewage. I came home to a damp empty and a little bit smelly but sanitized basement. I am blessed.

Even though I lost thousands of dollars worth of "stuff". Even though I had to buy furnace/water heater/washer/dryer. Even though my house is now worth much less in property value. Even though I still have many many hours of work ahead of me...Because of my community I can say confidently that I am very very blessed.

6/5/2013 02:14:36 am

You should be a pastor. I'd go to that church. Not going to one where the pastor is from the previous generation. We should be leading ourselves by now.

Reply
David Helms
6/5/2013 02:33:58 am

Thanks Lee, that's an awful nice compliment. I'm not sure I have the personality for a pastor, teaching maybe, but pastoring? Who knows what the future holds?

As for the generational thing, personally I think there's a balance to be struck. A multi-generational leadership paradigm would be ideal. Honoring the wisdom and life experience of those that have gone before, while simultaneously honoring and receiving from the passions and thirsts for justice from the younger generation.

There's an "elder" of my church who is an african american man in his late sixties/early seventies from Mississippi. That man has life experiences that I can't imagine and has much to teach me. Another "elder" just hit thirty and has a hunger to more fully experience relationship with God on the deepest of levels and I am jealous of that.

We have to be cautious of not created an "ageist" mindset whether against the young or the old. Balance in this, as in most things, is the key to wisdom.

You're a beast of a man, Lee Hudson. Keep being awesome homie.

Reply
6/5/2013 09:27:09 am

Oh Dave so very touching. Thanks I needed this message so very much. Yes a church is family with all our warts, scars and who knows what - but God can and will hold that family together. Great lesson learned through hardship - the gold comes through the fire. Keep writing from your experience and heart.

Reply
David Helms
6/9/2013 09:24:39 pm

Once I was having a conversation with a young lady who wanted to leave church just because one person in it was a bit of a gossip and manipulator. Being aware of the low level drama I simply said to her "This is a family, you don't choose the people that are in your family. You love them." Jesus died for us, warts and all. Thanks for reading and the encouragement!

Reply
Wanda Ritchie
6/9/2013 12:05:58 pm

Dave, taking a bad situation and using it to show how the love of Christ can bring comfort, help and encouragement. Your church sounds like a very loving caring group. You are a wonderful writer! Hope you will combine your blogs into a book someday ... the blogs need to be shared! We continue to keep you and Cat in our prayers, as you put your house "back together". Love ya'll

Reply
David Helms
6/9/2013 09:27:10 pm

Thank you so much for the encouragement! I am working on a book but I see why not everyone writes one, it's hard! ha, thank you so much much for the prayers! It means allot

Reply
6/9/2013 02:06:45 pm

THIS. IS. AWESOME!

I mean, it totally blows that your house got pooed on, but at least you have wonderful people in your life who've got your back. So often, we (I... me too) complain about the church, but sometimes, she's absolutely beautiful. This is one of those times. I love it.

Reply
David Helms
6/9/2013 09:32:03 pm

Hey, thanks for reading, man! It's way too easy to complain and criticize about the church in America. I know I do it. But I *try* to spend the same amount of time I use to criticize and complain to actually do something positive like pray for the church or work together to shore up her weaknesses. Like the quote widely attributed to St. Augustine "The Church may be a whore but she's still my mother."

Reply
Wanda Ritchie398
6/5/2017 05:42:07 pm

I was so impressed the first time you posted this and just as impressed as I read it again. You have a real talent for writing .... keep it up!

Reply



Leave a Reply.